Darlene Foster's Blog

A recipe to keep you warm

Posted on: February 27, 2011

As February comes to an end, the weather seems to be chilly everywhere. So I thought I would share a delicious and nutritious soup recipe I discovered in the Vancouver Sun recently. Enjoy!!

Curried Quinoa and Yam Soup

2 tablespoons (30 mL) vegetable oil
½ medium onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
2 teaspoons (10 mL) finely chopped fresh ginger
1 teaspoon (5 mL) mild or medium curry powder
4 ½ cups (1.1 litre) chicken or vegetable stock
1/3 cup (80 mL) quinoa
1 14-once (397-gram) can diced tomatoes
1 tablespoon (15 mL) brown sugar
1 medium yam (about 10 onces/275 grams) peeled and cut into 1/2 –inch (1 cm) cubes
Salt to taste
¼ cup (60 mL) chopped fresh cilantro or sliced green onion

• Place the oil in a large pot set over medium heat
• Add onion, ginger and garlic, and cook 2 minutes
• Mix in the curry powder and cook 30 seconds more
• Add the stock, quinoa, tomatoes and sugar and bring to simmer
• Simmer five minutes and then add the yam
• Simmer 10 -13 minutes more, or until quinoa and yams are tender
• Season with salt
• Stir in cilantro or green onion and serve

Makes 6 – 1 cup (250 mL) servings

Note: quinoa is sold at health food stores but I have recently found it in Safeway as well

9 Responses to "A recipe to keep you warm"

This soup sounds delicious. I have quinoa on hand. I may try this one soon. Thank you for sharing the recipe. Blessings to you…

Thnaks Carol Ann! I do hope you enjoy it. Please fell free to pass it on to friends.

Another soup for my growing collection.
Thanks for sharing.

Mu mum eats quinoa. She’d probably be interested in this. Thanks Darlene.

Thanks Darlene,
Sometimes just reading about soup warms the soul!!!

Thanks! I ripped this out of the Vancouver Sun and now I find myself am in Toronto without it. Thought I would try and google it and here it is. When I make this I cut the amount of yam by half and add potatoe and carrots as well. Yum. It is raining here today (which reminds me of home) and I will make myself a batch for dinner.

Glad you found the recipe. I love it as it is so filling and makes me feel warm and cozy. All the best in Toronto!

Sounds Ymmie. Here is my lazy day soup recipe. V8 juice heated then sprinkled with a bit of pepper or some more interesting spide and topped with a dollop of sour cream.

Even Cranky husband likes it and he is one fussy man. Best to heat the juice in a pan, it sputters and pops to much in in the microwave.

Thank you for liking my EFTi Shabbat Shalom

.Staying strong

Thanks for stopping by Katherine. And thanks for the wonderful suggestion, I will be sure to try it. Why didn’t I think of it. (slapping hand on forehead saying “I could have had a V8!”)

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,912 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

