Darlene Foster's Blog

Christmas Joy

Posted on: November 29, 2010

 

The radio played all my favourite Christmas songs as I drove home on a rainy, Friday night, in heavy traffic – and I was filled with incredible joy.

I have so much to be joyful about.  A good friend has just realized her dream of moving back to the west coast and will be with us by the end of December.  Another good friend has found a soul mate and I am very happy for her as she has been alone far too long.  Another good friend is leaving on a six week adventure to Australia and New Zealand.  When my friends are happy and realize their dreams; I am thrilled.

My son has a good job, is a great Dad and finds time to fulfill his passion for music by playing in a band on the weekends.  My daughter has a wonderful man in her life and together they have worked hard to fulfill her dream of completing a house on her island property.  She can now convert her cabin into a pottery studio where she will continue to follow her passion and create amazing works of art.  My grandchildren are all healthy and happy, as is my dear mother.

I have a job I love, working with people who genuinely care, doing what I enjoy and possibly making a difference in people’s lives.  And then there is the joy of holding my first published book in my hands!  Sometimes there is so much joy in my heart I feel like it will explode.  Now my wonderful husband is taking me to Maui for some sun and sand.

So many things to fill my heart with joy.  The joy of coming from a large loving extended family, the joy of visiting new places, the joy of making a new friend, the joy of reading a new book………..  The list could go on forever.

For me, Christmas is not about the gifts, the parties, the food and the decorations – it is about sharing the joy.  Thank you, everyone, for supporting my dream of becoming a published author and for giving me so much joy.

Follow your bliss and have a Happy Christmas and a Joyous New Year.

“Whatever our situation in life… we can and should surround ourselves with friends who not only understand us, but also inspire us to make the most of our current calling.” – Beverly LaHaye

19 Responses to "Christmas Joy"

Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance. Darlene, I think you are surrounded by beautiful music and choose to dance all the time.

So eloquently put Sheila. I guess I am just lucky that the party turned out to be more than I hoped for and it never ceases to surprise and awe me. The best part is all the wonderful people who have come to my party!

I am so happy for you. I am grateful that we are family and I have gotten to share in the joys that you wrote about. You do have fabulous kids! So glad Auntie Betty is doing well. Love you lots.

Thank you Robin. I will pass on your best wishes to Mom. Love you too.

Wow Darlene tears came to my eyes as read this. What a wonderful lady you really are. Positive, uplifting and Joyous Thank you for being you.
God Bless you and yours Have a wonderful Christmas.

Thanks Teresa. So happy to have you as part of my wonderful family. Have a fabulous Christmas!

Hey Darlene, love your inspirational post….and glad to be a part of what brings you joy. Have a great time in Maui and tap into the joy there. The natives call it “mana”. Just ask them about it.

Tricia ; )

Thanks Tricia. I will check out the “mana”.

I am very lucky to have you as a friend. You bring out the best in people and me especially. Thank you for sharing the joy.

Thanks Lani and Congratulations on completing the course. I am very pleased and proud of you. I wish you and your family a very Happy Christmas and much JOY!

“For me, Christmas is not about the gifts, the parties, the food and the decorations – it is about sharing the joy.”—well said. You are so right, Darlene. There is always a reason to feel joy in our hearts…Have a wonderful trip!!

Darlene – Very well written – couldn’t have said it better myself. For me, the true meaning of Christmas is the birth of Christ and the joy that brings. As I age, I realize just how important that is. I love all the other bits of Christmas too – like the decorations, family and of course the food!!

Thanks Linda. You are such a Christmasy person! Sorry I missed you when I stopped in the other day. Have a wonderful Christmas with your family.

This is most inspiring, Darlene. Your gratitude is a great teaching!
All the best!

What beautiful inspirational thoughts! What better time than Christmas to be thankful for the special people in our lives. Keep smiling my friend and keep the stories flowing. Hope you enjoy your vacation. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Hello dear friend – the joys you talk about are totally awesome and so is the joy of friendship we continue to share….I can totally see your joy when you talk about your book being printed – and the wonderful joy you bring to others who can read of your travels…and your family life – I am joining you in wishing all a wonderful Joyful and peaceful and loving Christmas….

For me, Christmas is not about the gifts, the parties, the food and the decorations – it is about sharing the joy.

Harumph ! Christmas is about more chocolate.

Did I forget to mention chocolate? Of course it is about more chocolate too. Off to open another box as I just finished the last one.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purchase

click to purchase

Pig on Trial

click to purchase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,013 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

