Darlene Foster's Blog

CUENCA AND THE CASA COLGADAS

Posted on: April 5, 2014

I have recently had a couple of fun weekends that I plan to write about here soon. In the meantime you might enjoy this article posted on Travel Thru History last week. A little known Spanish destination you may want to put on your must see list.

 

CUENCA AND THE CASA COLGADAS
Spain
by Darlene Foster

 


house
My first thought upon observing the houses of the Spanish city of Cuenca, was that I wouldn’t want to be a sleep walker if I lived in one of them. This unique city, tucked away in the mountains of Castilla-La Mancha, is famous for its casa colgadas, or hanging houses, perched on top of cliffs surrounding a deep gorge carved out by two rivers. Due to limited space, the former inhabitants of the old city built their houses close to the edge, on a rocky mountaintop. Over the centuries, the relentless wind eroded the lime stone cliffs leaving some houses clinging precariously to the edge. A few balconies actually jut out over the ravine, which would make sleepwalking indeed dangerous.

Read the rest of the article here:

http://www.travelthruhistory.com/html/historic127.html

 

Would you like to live that close to the edge?

 

 

20 Responses to "CUENCA AND THE CASA COLGADAS"

No I wouldn’t want to live that close to the edge but I like your photograph!

I agree. But they were amazing to see. (A new take on ‘living on the edge’.

Oh my! Fascinating scene with a great view, I’m sure.

The view was amazing.

Reminds of the cliff dwellers. It may be fun to look out from one of the homes, but not for long. There is both strength and fragility in those homes. Can’t imagine having small children living with you. Will look forward to your comments.

I would be a nervous wreck if i lived there and had small children.

Gotta tell ya Darlene, I would be concerned about the foundation of the house if I lived in one.
blessings ~ maxi

It is amazing they have stood for so long.

By living on the edge, our picture of the world is so much closer, brighter, and incredible. Do we dare??

I agree. We need to live on the edge once in a while to see the world from a different view.Thanks for stopping by.

Hi Darlene, Looks a bit scary but I bet the views are incredible! Looking forward to your posts about your trips!

Thanks for stopping by my blog Gerryann!

Fascinating pictures but I certainly would want to live in that house! Hotel Cueva del Fraile sounds like a marvellous place to stay, but I’m not too happy about the idea of a spook! Thanks for sharing this Darlene, I enjoyed it very much. Barbara.

I’m so pleased you enjoyed the article Barbara. It was a unique place to stay and I featured it in Amanda in Spain.

WHOA! Very cool – but kind of scary!

It was very cool to see.A great place for a story setting don’t you think.

I don’t know if I’d want to stay there. :) Thanks for sharing.

I don’t believe anyone lives in these houses any more. They are cool to see though.

This is another town I’d love to go and visit. It has been on my list for a very long time! Nice article. :-)

I’m pleased you enjoyed the article. I would love to return as it was fascinating. Spain has so many unique places to visit.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,144 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,144 other followers

