Darlene Foster's Blog

How The Maccabeats Saved my Christmas

Posted on: December 17, 2012

I have been having trouble getting into the Christmas spirit this year.  My broken ankle has stopped me from doing the many activities I do at this time of year.  My energy is low, a feeling I am unfamiliar with.  Then the terrible news from Friday made me wish there would be no Christmas at all this year.  My friend Niamh Clune wrote a meaningful poem in memory of those lives lost and posted it on her blog  To all those whose hearts are bleeding…  It says it all.

I felt like I was just going through the motions, that wonderful Christmas feeling just wasn’t there.  And I am a total Christmasy person.  My dear husband decorated my car with reindeer antlers and a Rudolf nose much to my delight.  My coworker came in early on her day off and decorated our shared office to cheer me. These things helped but I still wasn’t in the spirit I usually am at this time of year.

Then this morning I opened up a blog post from another blogging friend, Jennifer Kiley wishing everyone Happy Chanukah, with this delightful video by the Maccabeats telling the story of Hanukkah.

The Maccabeats – Candlelight – Hanukkah

And guess what? That wonderful Christmas feeling of love, joy and peace filled my heart.  The Maccabeats saved my Christmas.  Hope you enjoy them as well.

What does it take to get you in the holiday spirit?

25 Responses to "How The Maccabeats Saved my Christmas"

They are having such a good time! Thank you for this. :)

Yes! Such a sad, sad time. We need humour and love to get us all through. Have a Christmas filled with all things of meaning and value.

You as well Niamh. May love and joy fill your heart. XO

I’m right there with ya’. I thought I’d start earlier this year and didn’t. I did get nice presents this year for everyone, which is a big accomplishment, but that’s about it.

It’s really hard when you’re hobbling around to get stuff done, let alone the extras. Sounds like people around you are trying to compensate, which is great.

Next year will be better.

Merry Christmas if I don’t get back here next week!

Nancy

Thanks Nancy for your kind and encouraging words. So great to hear from you. We did buy some things in Europe in September that have made nice Christmas presents so that saved me some shopping. I am lucky I have such wonderful peopel around me and in the blogging world. Merry Christnmas to you and yours!!

Thanks for sharing that. I, too, shared something that moved me today… brought tears rather than a smile, but the good kind. I’ve been hobbling a bit this week… managed to get my baby toenail pulled up! Still, slowing down isn’t a bad thing at this time of the year. Sometimes we let busyness overtake us, and we need time to reflect. Things always manage to get done, and if they don’t, it never seems to matter in the end.

Thanks so much Carol. You have no idea how much I needed to hear that. I know I need to slow down but for some reason I fight it. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

And Merry Christmas to you, too.

Thank you for this. It helped.

Glad it helped you as it helped me Katherine.

There has definately been a lot of saddness and busyness around of late, but we can always take time out for a friend. *hugs*
Glad you got your Christmas spirit back.:)

Like the name Maccabeats, great video. I have been to Israel and loved my visit there.
Blessings ~ Maxi

I would love to visit Israel one day. The Maccabeats are delightful.

Merry Christmas and I do hope you’re doing better soon.
Donna

http://mylife-in-stories.blogspot.com

Thanks Donna and Merry Christmas to you and yours as well.

Glad to hear that the Christmas spirit has visited your home. It has been hard to get in the spirit with so many disasters, wrought by man and nature. It is impossible to forget the suffering that is ongoing for far too many of the world’s citizens.

So true Sheila. We all need a pick-me-up like the Maccabeats from time to time. to get us back on track.

i have never heard of these guys – thanks for sharing.

Glad you’re back in the spirit! :)

I’m still seeing cars here with antlers and red noses! It’s fun to hang on a little longer.

My car still has the antlers and red nose! Perhaps I will remove them on the weekend.

Better them instead of the McBeths and Hamlet is such a waffling fool.

I hesitate to invite the McBeths to my home. I don’t think I would sleep well.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,085 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,085 other followers

