Darlene Foster's Blog

A Deserving Award, A Special Wedding and a Belated Thank you

Posted on: October 29, 2012

This has been a busy and rewarding weekend. On Saturday I was a special guest of Rosemarie Hurst’s as she received the Phyllis Delaney “Life After Stroke Award in the Achievements in the Arts” I wrote about Rosemarie in a previous post. http://darlenefoster.wordpress.com/2011/09/16/the-heart-of-a-poet/  Rosemarie  suffered from a stroke and soon after recovering, had a ruptured brain aneurism. She counts her self lucky not only to be alive, but to have retained 20/20 vision and the ability to continue to create. Rosemarie accepted her award with grace and eloquence.  I was pleased to have been invited to watch her be acknowledged in this way.

Saturday evening Paul and I attended the wedding of Kevin and Helena. The  wedding reception was held at the popular Chinese Seafood restaurant Sun Sui Wah . The  groom was very handsome and the bride stunningly beautiful. She changed outfits three times during the evening, every outfit gorgeous. The food was incredible and I am still full.   I don’t eat meat, but was able to eat 9 of the 12 courses. I do enjoy seafood and there were so many wonderful dishes I just couldn’t resist. It was so wonderful to see the blend of wedding traditions as the family has lived in Canada for a number of years but still show respect for their roots in Taiwan. Although we were in the minority, we were made to feel very welcome and special. We are so blessed to have friends from diverse backgrounds and cultures, and honoured to be included as guests at this special wedding.

Traditional dress

Kevin and Helena. The bride’s third outfit.

After being away for most of September and dealing with a broken ankle when I returnd, I got behind in reading and responding to blog posts. I must thank the lovely Holly Michael for another award granted to me while I was away.  It is the Super Sweet Award.  Which is very kind as I think Holly is super sweet herself and has a wonderful blog called writing straight that connects people to inspire and share about life and writing. I suggest you check it out. http://writingstraight.com/about/

Super Sweet Award

I received this wonderful award once before so I am not going to pass it on this time.  But it is so great to know that my blogging friends feel I deserve it. Thanks so much Holly and sorry it took me so long to respond.

 

And why this large bird?  This sculpture was outside the building where Rosemarie’s award ceremony was held. I just loved it and wanted to share it with all of you. Some of my readers are huge bird fans so I knew it would be appreciated.

I hope everyone else had a great weekend as well and hope you all stay safe and happy in spite of storms on the way.

16 Responses to "A Deserving Award, A Special Wedding and a Belated Thank you"

What a beautiful post. Congrats on the award, so well deserved to. What an amazing woman Rosemarie is, a huge credit and what an honour for you to be there. The wedding looks lovely and outfits gorgeous. You have certainly had an eventful weekend Darlene.

Thanks Diane! It was an eventful weekend for sure.

Thanks so much for mentioning me in your blog Darlene. And I’m so glad you liked my big bird photo! It was wonderful that you were able to share that day with me. The wedding looks lovely especially the bride in traditional dress. What a fabulous looking couple. Hope your ankle heals up soon!

Cheers!
Rosemarie

You are welcome Rosemarie. Thanks for inviting me as your guest. The bird picture is fab. I see another card in the making.

Thanks for sharing two such beautiful stories!

You’re welcome Sandra.

Hello Darlene, I thoroughly enjoyed this post, thank you. All the photographs, including the bird sculpture are beautiful. So sorry to hear about your ankle, I hope it is much improved now.
Congratulations on the award, Barbara

Glad you enjoyed the pictures Barbara. The ankle is slowly getting better, thanks.

It is a special treat to attend a wedding from a different culture.

A very special treat indeed!

Lovely post Darlene. Congrats once more on yet another award! I like the look of this one – those cup cakes are scrummy! What a beautiful wedding – three lovely gowns! – the bride looks just like a storybook princess.

She does look like a princess doesn’t she. I imagine you could make some lovely cut out doll outfits from just this one wedding!

Don’t tempt me – I feel another paper doll coming on already!

I so enjoyed the comments you left on my blog earlier (about the books and the forest). I think Amanda would have a wonderful adventure here – I hope you will really think about writing one!

I also tried to send you an email earlier this week about a blog hop for writers. I agreed to participate and I thought about you straight away as well. The email might have looked a bit like junk mail(!) Let me know if you are interested.

I am interested in the blog hop. Try sending the info to me again. darlene dot foster at telus dot net Thanks for thinking of me.

Love these two great stories, Darlene! So happy for your friend Rosemarie. A big congrats to her all around! The photos from the wedding are lovely and that huge big bird..wow!

Thanks Laura. I should have mentioned that Rosemarie took the picture of the big bird. She is amazing isn’t she.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,988 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,988 other followers

