Darlene Foster's Blog

The Booker Award for Me!

Posted on: October 26, 2012

 

Maybe not the one you are thinking of but a delightful award nonetheless! The Booker Award  was recently given to me by  Lada Ray  author of a number of well written, exciting books. Because this was awarded to me by another author, I feel extremely honoured. Lada’s books include the accidental spy stories, Gold Train and  Green Dessert and soon to be released  YA fantasy/thriller The Earth Shifter . Check out her books and blog at http://ladaray.wordpress.com/lada-ray-books/ Not only is she an amazing writer, she is a wonderful person.

 

To accept it, I am asked to list 5 of my favorite books and pass it on to 5 other authors, which I’ll gladly do.

To pick only 5 favourite books is very difficult for me as I have been reading for a long time and the list grows every year. But I will try.

The first favourite book has to be Jane Austen’s Emma. I love all of her books but if I have to pick, Emma has to be the one I enjoy the most.  Emma is a flawed character who realizes her shortcomings after a series of total mess ups. It is also very funny and timeless with great characters.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maude Montgomery.  Anne Shirley has to be the most memorable young girl who makes the best of her situation as she strives to belong. She is a very real and strong young woman. I read this book over and over and use it in my English as a Second Language classes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Little Women By Louisa May Alcott is another long time favourite. I love the bond between  the March sisters in spite of their differences.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The No. One Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. Precious Ramotswe strives to earn a living as a detective in Botswana, upholding the traditional values of her dear departed father. When I read these books, and I have read all of them, I feel like I am in Botswana. I feel the dust, the heat, the struggles and the joys. These books are written with a wonderful sense of humour while respecting the people of this nation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant. This familiar story from the old testament is told from the point of view of  Dinah, the only sister of the twelve sons of Jacob. This richly told story of the ancient Jews, from a woman’s voice, brings a new perspective and appreciation of the role of women in early history.  This is a book that sticks with you for a long time.

 

 

I realize now that I have compiled the list that there is a theme here. All of my favourite books have strong female main characters. I also realize I have missed so many others but 5 is all I could share this time. Thank you so much Lada for this award.

The authors I would like to nominate for the Booker Award are:

Laura Best http://lauraabest.wordpress.com/

Linda Cassidy Lewis http://lindacassidylewis.com/

Diane Tibert http://dianetibert.com/home/

Michelle Isenhoff  http://michelleisenhoff.wordpress.com

Ellen Ekstrom http://www.amazon.com/Ellen-L.-Ekstrom/e/B004NQOG8Y/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Please check out their blogs and books. You may discover a new favourite author.

Would you have difficulty narrowing the list down to 5 favourite books?

 

 

32 Responses to "The Booker Award for Me!"

I love the description of that award. Congratulations!

Thanks Patti. It is a good description.

I would definitely have trouble coming up with only five books! Now fifty would be more doable.

Congratulations!

Nancy

Fifty would have been much easier. Even now I keep thinking of others

Happy for you. Putting the read tent on my library list. Will pin your five books and award.

Thanks Katherine! I will beninterested to hear what you think of The Red Tent

Awesome books, Darlene!

Thanks again Lada! Good luck on your next release.

Congratulations! I would find it very difficult to narrow my favourite books down to five. All the books you chose would be on my list so that would leave no room for any more!

It was a difficult task. I now feel guilty about all the books I didn’t mention.

Congrats! Jane Austen all the way!!!

Somehow I knew you would agree!

Interesting! Thank you for sharing. The Task at Hand was just FP’d yesterday for her essay “A Reason to Try”. She quotes Anita Diamant in yesterday’s post. And, now I read about The Red Tent again, on your blog.

I love that synchronicity!

Loved all these books, except that I never read the series by Smith. How have I never heard of this one (& it was a hbo series)???. Ill definitely pick it up!

I think you will enjoy the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books. They are delightful. I have read all 12 so far.

As I have read all the books on your list I can see that we definitely have the same taste in reading material. I would have had a hard time paring my list down to five. I would have to qualify, such as favourite historicals, favourite juvenile, etc. So many great books…so little time.

We have always had similar tastes in books. I love how we share books and pass on suggestions to each other. Your recommendations are always good.

Congratulations, Darlene, and I love your book choices!

Congrats on another award, Darlene. I’m not surprised your blog is such a friendly and inviting place to visit.

Thanks so much for th shout out.. :)

From one author to another! You are so welcome.

Congrats everyone! Thanks Ms. Foster for reminding me to read classics! :)

Classics are good. I used to read one contemporary novel and then one classic novel. So many books, so little time! But you are lucky as you seem to be a fast reader.

Thank you for passing to me, Darlene. The only one of your five I can remember reading is The Red Tent, which I loved. I think it may take some time for me to pick five faves.

You are welcome. It is a difficult task narrowing ity down to 5 but fun.

Congratulations on your award Darlene. Oops and reminding me I need to mention my ones to. Love your book choices.

I look forward to hearing your 5 favs.

Congrats once again Darlene – you really are being showered with recognition – how wonderful! I loved the idea of a list of 5 favourite books – I so enjoyed reading yours I think I am going to pinch the idea – and its not the first time your blog has given me inspiration!

The best compliment is to be copied. I am flattered that my blog gives you ideas. Pinch away!

Great book choices! Anne of Green Gables is one of my favorites :)

How can you not love Anne Shirley!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,887 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,887 other followers

