Darlene Foster's Blog

Shoes on the Danube

Posted on: October 1, 2012

While visiting Europe I was touched by the memorials and references to the  Jewish people who lost thier lives during World War II.  The one that moved me the most was along the Danube in Budapest.  I was unable to take a picture as I was on a bus at the time.  Fortunately, I discovered Claire’s blog at http://pestipixels.com/2012/09/26/shoes-on-the-danube/  with the perfect picture. 

Please take a moment to check it out.

Shoes on the Danube.

13 Responses to "Shoes on the Danube"

Pinned Claires picture on my Creating Peace Board. Thank you. http://pinterest.com/pin/147141112796752798/

Amazing picture. thanks for sharing

Thanks for sharing, Darlene. Especially now when it is being denied such things ever occurred. This photo speaks volumes.

Thanks for posting this link. I appreciated being able to see it. It’s a very visual and powerful reminder of what happened.

Nancy

Thanks for all your comments. After years of reading about this terrible time in history, this memorial made it real for me.

You have given us something to remember, Darlene. I didn’t know about this memorial of shoes by the water; the photo put an ache in my throat.

Love your photos, especially the one with you and hubby dearest.

Blessings ~ Maxi

Tears came to my eyes when I saw the memorial. Glad you enjoyed the photos. These are memories we will keep forever.

I love the photo. I would like to learn more about World War II and what happened. My great grandfather was in Italy and Austria during World War II but he doesn’t talk a lot about it, maybe just to tell me about how the countries looked and some of the people he met.

Many people who were in World War II don’t like to talk about it as it was a very sad time. There are some good books about it though. I just read one called Making Bombs for Hitler by Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch. It is a book for middle readers and is very good. I am glad you liked the picture of the shoes.

I will look for that book. Thank you Ms. Foster!

That memorial is hard to look at, but very profound. Thanks for bringing it to our attention, Darlene.
When I was in Holland with my sister and our dad (who is a Canadian WWll vet and was personally involved in the Liberation of the Netherlands), the Dutch families we stayed with educated us in the horrors of what went on for them during the war. We were privileged to attend a memorial service on the 60th anniversary of their Liberation. During the service there was a reading of the names of people of their town who were killed in the war. One thing that broke my heart was the thirteen people with the same surname on that list. They were all members of one Jewish family who had been removed from their town under the pretense of relocation. Believing it was for their safety they were happy to go, but they never returned, having been taken instead to be killed. It’s very sobering to know of such things.

These stories are all very sad but must be remembered so it doesn’t happen again. Sadly it is still happening in some parts of the world today.

Thank you for sharing the link. I’ve seen pictures of the memorial before but its good to be reminded again and again.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,103 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,103 other followers

