Darlene Foster's Blog

A Stellar Review and an Interview

Posted on: August 25, 2012

Some days are just worth waking up to and today has been astounding!

Amanda in Arabia-The Perfume Flask was given a stellar review by a wonderful mother and daughter team I had the pleasure of meeting at one of my book signings.  This dynamic duo, Renee and Danielle, have a blog  where they review books they have read together.  Parents who encourage their children to read and then discuss the reading with them are providing a great education to the future generation. This is what they had to say about Amanda’s adventure:

Book Review: Amanda in Arabia – The Perfume Flask by Darlene Foster

Title: Amanda in Arabia: The Perfume Flask

Author: Darlene Foster

Year published: 2010

Publisher: ireadiwritePublishing

Number of pages: 108

Recommended age: 8+

Daughter Rating: ★★★★½

Grown-up Rating: ★★★★½

Reviewed by: Renee and Danielle (Mother and Daughter)

Daughter’s bottom line: I really, really, really liked this book – it was fun to read. I would recommend it to girls 7 years and older.

Mother’s bottom line: I really, really enjoyed this book.  I ripped through it in one sitting because it had me captivated from start to finish.  I would highly recommend this book and the other Amanda books to girls in particular ages 8+.

To read the entire review http://motherdaughterbookreviews.com/book-review-amanda-in-arabia-the-perfume-flask-by-darlene-foster/

If that wasn’t enough to make my day, I was also interviewed by my amazing publisher, Michelle at Central Avenue Publishing

On Being a Small Press Author – Darlene Foster

Today, I’m proud to present Darlene Foster, a Canadian author who has written three young reader books all belonging to the Amanda series. Darlene’s books have been very well received both locally and internationally. Her newest book, Amanda in England: The Missing Novel has just been released. She is actually one of the few Canadian authors we have and she just happens to live about a 15 minute drive away from me. I met her in person, at a local writer’s group and I’m very glad I did.

1. The first book I can remember reading is:

Goldilocks and The Three Bears

2. The first book I ever wrote was:  Amanda in Arabia-The Perfume Flask

Read more of this interview and perhaps learn more about me: http://centralavenuepub.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/on-being-a-small-press-author-darlene-foster/

Thank you! Thank you! Renee, Danielle and Michelle for giving me a fabulous Friday.

21 Responses to "A Stellar Review and an Interview"

Well-deserved, Darlene! Congratulations!

Thanks Patti. Sometimes all the hard work pays off.

Well done, Darlene. How exciting for you.

Congratulations on your great review and so deserved!

Thanks for your encouragement Sandra. It means a lot.

What a great deal. Two reviews… mother and daughter… two looks from different generations. Congratulations.

Thanks! I am pleased at how many adults are enjoying my books as well.

Congratulations Darlene! Your fame is growing. Isn’t that wonderful.

Thanks Sharon, I am still a small time player in the field of writing but it is good to see more people are recognizing me and my work.

Congratulations! It’s so cool that moms and daughters read together. My mom and I have completely different taste in books – I think we have maybe a dozen books in common on GoodReads.

Thanks Brianna! My Mom and I have different tastes now as well, but she did introduce me to Pollyanna, Anne of Green Gables and Little Woman when I was a child. For that I will be forever grateful. She seems to enjoy the books I write which makes me very happy!

My mom gave me those same books. She also gave me her old Nancy Drew books, which I absolutely love.

I just finished reading Nancy Drew and the Secret of the Old Clock after all these years! Those books are still fun to read.

I’ve read several versions of Goldilocks, and I find myself using a phrase or two from the story here and there, such as ‘that bed looks too soft, but this one…’

Congratulations, Darlene! I think reviews from children are the best.

You always know a review from a kid will be honest. They tell it like it is.

It is fun to read with a child. I no longer read with my daughter, however I now read with my granddaughter.

That’s just another great reason to have grandkids. Both of my kids tell me one of their best childhood memories is when we read together. Marcelle and I still read together. I will read to her while she makes pottery, bakes or prepares a meal while I’m visiting her. Otherwise she never gets to read as she is too busy.

That’s a great idea about the mother and daughter book reading thing, and what a wonderful review from both of them! This is the kind of day that makes all the disciplined writing worthwhile, well done and well deserved!

Thank you so much. Coments like this make my day as well. Have a great day!

Conratulations on a wonderful review, Darlene. Well deserved. A great way to make an author’s day. :)

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,103 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,103 other followers

