Darlene Foster's Blog

Finding Your Voice

Posted on: July 23, 2012

“Live out of your imagination, not your history.”-  Stephen Covey

I was sad to hear of the passing of Steven Covey last week.  He was a man who influenced many individuals, including me. I often quote from his popular book  “The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People”  in my job search workshops.  Over at A Hopeful Sign a video is featured with Dr. Covey talking about The Eighth Habit.  He states that  voice is when your talent and your passion overlaps what the world needs as driven by conscience.

From A Hopeful Sign Video Story: Steven Covey http://ahopefulsign.com/
We honor the sudden passing of motivational speaker Steven Covey with a clip summarizing his “8th Habit”, something he called “finding one’s voice.” Mr. Covey was the popular and highly successful author of “The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People.”

“Be a light, not a judge. Be a model, not a critic”  ―    Stephen R. Covey
The world was fortunate to have Dr. Covey amoung us.

16 Responses to "Finding Your Voice"

I did the Covey Course in the late 90’s based on the ‘Seven Habits’ book (organised by the company I was with at the time). We went to a game reserve for a few days to do it – the course itself was amazing. Sad to hear that he has passed away.

It is sad to have lost him. He influenced so many in both their busness practices and personal lives. I bet the course was wonderful and at a game reserve as well!

I’m sorry to say I’ve not come across Stephen Covey before, but The 7 habits of highly effective people is now on my must-read list.

I’m glad to have introduced you to a new writer. You will find his ideas to be very practical in business and personal aspects of our lives.

I love that quote: imagination vs history.

Thanks Diane, You are one certainly lives out of your imagination!

I’m sorry to hear that he passed. Part of his legacy is his book which has helped many.

Always sad when an inspirational voice leaves us. They leave a hole in the world.

I love the “Eighth Habit” and I’ll miss him too!

I have the novel that you mentioned. My father gave it to me as a gift when I was eighteen–I think he was trying to tell me something. Some years later and I think I am getting there. It’s sad to hear of the loss of this great, inspirational writer!

What a fabulous gift from your father. I think he was trying to tell you he loved you! It is abook that can be read over and over and always get something new out of it.

We’re big Covey fans, too. One statement of his has stuck with me for years, (paraphrased): Everything is created twice. The first time, it’s created in the mind.

Thanks for stopping by Robin. I love that quote too.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,987 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,987 other followers

