Darlene Foster's Blog

You are my sunshine!

Posted on: March 1, 2012

You Are My Sunshine. My only sunshine.

You make me happy. When skies are grey.

You’ll never know, dear, How much I love you.

Please don’t take my sunshine away.

~ Jimmie Davis and Charles Mitchell. Copyright 1940

 

This was my favourite song when I was a little girl growing up on the Canadian prairies.  My Dad and I used to sing it together.

 

 

 

 

So imagine how happy I was to recieve the Sunshine Award from my east coast friend Pauline at newfoundlandtraveller Check out her blog, she posts delightful stories about her life and her part of the world.

Of course, the Sunshine Award has some rules:

  • Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog
  • Answer 10 questions about yourself
  • Nominate 10-12 other fabulous bloggers
  • Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they have been nominated
  • Share the love and link the person who nominated you.

TEN EASY QUESTIONS

Favorite color:  purple

Favorite animal:  camel

Favorite number:  12

Favorite non-alcoholic drink: Rooibos tea, it always makes me feel good

Prefer Facebook or Twitter?  Twitter, I have over 1400 followers from all over the world

My passion:   Helping others meet their goals

Prefer getting or giving presents:  Giving, I love to shop for that perfect gift for a special person. I usually pick up things on my travels.  Seeing the look on the faces of people when they open the gift is so wonderful.

Favorite pattern:  stars

Favorite day of the week:  Monday because it is a fresh start.  (I know, I am weird)

Favorite flower:  Tulips, they make me so happy.

PASSING IT ON:

I hereby pass forward this  Sunshine Award to some wonderful blogging friends I have met over the past year.  If you have won this award before it is because you are so deserving of it.  They are all worth checking out! I look forward to your answers.

http://lynnadavidson.wordpress.com/

http://mybookofstories.wordpress.com/

http://angelhorn.com/

http://clarbojahn.wordpress.com/

http://bridgesburning.wordpress.com/

http://thesimplecountrylife.com/

http://growingyoungereachday.wordpress.com/

http://writingsistersblog.wordpress.com/

http://lindacassidylewis.com/

http://sharonssunlitmemories.blogspot.com/

http://thepatientdreamer.com/

Thanks everyone for being my sunshine!!

Who would you like to pass this feel good sunshine award on to?

 

29 Responses to "You are my sunshine!"

Lovely! Congrats, Darlene!
That is a favorite childhood song of mine, too. My mom used to sing it to us, and now it is the special song I sing to one of my boys, but I change the words to “You are my Sam-Sam, my only Sam-Sam.” He loves it.

I love how you changed the words to fit your son’s name. I hope you found one for his brother too. It is funny how a song can bring back memories. (Perhaps an idea for another anthology!)

Some songs seem to be universally known and loved. I think every music class, of a certain era, rang with the sounds of ‘You Are My Sunshine.” No wonder, as the song has such an uplifting message.

I always thought of it as my Dad and my special song but I see it is special to so many. It does remind me of my Dad’s positive outlook on life.

Congrats, Darlene. I’ve always liked the Statler Bros. version of that song.

I think a few have recorded it since the original. It is a good song.

Thanks for the review. It’s a plus to hear from someone who has used it.

Sorry, that was to go on another post.

Darlene, what a wonderful surprise! Thank you so much for this award.
The ten questions pose a problem for me. Maybe I have too many interests and not enough favourites, but I’ll give it a whirl.

I was the same so I picked my favourite for the day. The day I wrote it purple was my favourite colour, today it is orange. Just have fun with it. It will be fun to hear your answers.

I had to call in to tell you this is a favourite song of mine too. My mum used to play the tune on the piano and we all used to sing along. Congratulations on the award.

I am amzed at how many people know and love this song. Thanks for calling in.

Congratulations and best wishes on your well deserved award!

Congratulations, Darlene, and I grew up singing that song too! What a great reminder!

So glad I was able to bring this lovely little tune to everyone’s attention. Thanks Sandra.

Congratulations on your award, Darlene!

I used to sing that song to our college daughter when we tucked her into bed years ago. Ah. Memories.

Songs evoke the fondest memories, don’t they. Glad I was able to bring this one to the forefront.

We always sang it to our sons, and now we sing it for our grand children. So energizing! You so deserve this small award!

Thank you for awarding me this meaningful prize. It warms my heart that people all around the world have special memories of this song!

Darlene, I do love that sweet song, too. And congrats on your award! Mondays are great fresh starts (sometimes I kind of wish the weekends would pass a bit quicker so that I could hop back into my writing/reading routine in the weekdays).

So happy to meet another person who loves Mondays. I think that is it, I like the routine of weekdays. I have also been fortunate to have jobs I love. Thanks for dropping by Claudine

congrats on this award and for passing it on to me. I hope to do it justice as I answer all the questions and pass it on to ten fellow bloggers. :)

Hi Darlene – I’m busy catching up after a couple of weeks away from blogging. Congratulations on the award – and thanks so much for including me in your list – what a surprise! I enjoyed reading your answers and was particularly amazed to see your reference to rooibos tea. It is supposed to be very good for you – when my son was born the nursing home even included it in their maternity pack!

Thanks Sharon. I have been away as well. I think it is wonderful that the medical profession recognizes the benefits of rooibos tea. It comes in all sorts of wonderful flavors too. I love vanilla and recently bought a coco carmel flavoured package. Very yummy!

[...] the day off right. So imagine how happy I was to receive the Sunshine award from my blogging buddy Darlene Foster.   She has written two books taking place in Italy and is writing her third. She blogs about her [...]

Congratulations on the award, Darlene. May 2012 continue to bring you much success. Blessings – Maxi

Thanks for stopping by Maxi. Checked out your blog and love it!

[...] Most Popular: You are my sunshine! [...]

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,103 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,103 other followers

