Darlene Foster's Blog

Valentine’s Day Contest – Tea For Two

Posted on: February 12, 2012

Susanna Hill  has organized a Valentines Day Contest which is a great idea!  Here is my entry:

TEA FOR TWO

Claire met Frank at a dull retirement party.  He had an interesting face and she wondered about his story.  Men of a certain age always had a reason why they were single.

Frank blurted, “I feel like I have been to far too many of these events lately.”  He quickly added, “People are retiring much too young these days.  What will they do with their time?”

Claire thought for a minute, “Most people want to travel or write a book I suppose.”

“Um, perhaps.”

An uncomfortable silence followed.

Frank thought she looked elegant and well read, but perhaps somewhat aloof.  Why was she single?    Maybe she hated men.

“There’s a nice cafe around the corner; would you like to join me for a cup of tea?”

That had to be the worst pick up line – ever, thought Frank.

“That’s the best offer I’ve had in a long time.” Claire was quite pretty when she smiled.

Over cups of steaming tea, they talked late into the night, replenishing their mugs as they steeped themselves in each other’s history.

The next morning, Frank woke Claire with a smile and a welcoming pot of that seductive libation.

“Happy Valentine’s Day!”

 

 

I would love to read other enrties.  The wording is limited to 200 words.

Do you have any valentines day memories you would like to share?

 

4 Responses to "Valentine’s Day Contest – Tea For Two"

Thanks for sharing, Darlene. Best of luck with the contest.

What a fun contest and thanks for the share!

Wonderful way to fall in love. Perfect valentines story. I thought it had to be about unlikely valentines. Was I wrong? I thought that was in the rules. The first one about writing it in 150 words. I guess I’m confused. :)

Looks like we were both confused as I didn’t realize it was supposed to be for children. I took the unlikely valentines to be an unlikely couple. I wrote another one for kids. Your entry was great as are some of the others. It has been fun!

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,103 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,103 other followers

