Darlene Foster's Blog

We Cannot Create Alone

Posted on: April 12, 2011

I thought perhaps I was spending too much time on social networking and not enough time on my writing lately. But then I thought about all the wonderful new friends I have made on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and various blog sites. I have learned so much from other writers, readers and interesting people. I have acquired many new ideas that help me with my writing. That’s when I realized that whenever we are creating, we need others for inspiration and motivation.

I was at a friend’s birthday party recently where I only knew the birthday girl. I walked away with a number of ideas for the book I am working on currently, just by talking to her and her wonderful friends.

My publisher asked me to write an acknowledgment page for my next, soon to be print-published book, Amanda in Spain – the Girl in the Painting. As I went through the people I planned to thank, I also realized this was not a project completed on my own. Some say writing is a lonely profession but I disagree, without any collaboration we would have no books worth reading.

So, I want to thank everyone who reads my blog, as you are part of my team, so to speak. I love your comments and observations as they add fuel to the fire and keep me going.

I would love to know, do you believe that we need other people in order to create?

“An artist is a nourisher and a creator who knows that during the act of creation there is collaboration. We do not create alone.” Madeleine LˊEngle

Madeleine L'Engle

10 Responses to "We Cannot Create Alone"

I agree that writer’s need social contact to prime the pump. Keep on doing what you are doing. It’s working for you!

Thanks Sheila. Your encouragement is always appreciated.

Hi Darlene,

I so agree. Interacting with others helps us widen perspective and add to our knowledge base. They can also inspire us. It’s what fuels my social networking passion. For the first time in history we have the ability to interact easily with people of all skills and professions.

Susan

Thanks Susan, well put. I also love that we can interact with people with similar interests from all over the world. I just recently connected with another Jane Austen fan in Holland!

I can’t agree with you more. People and places, even animals have all been sources of inspiration for me to create something new or encourage me to take a new step or direction.

Thanks for the comment Lisa. I love how you are always open to new ideas and willing to step ot of your comfort zone.

Where would any of us be without the people in our lives? Without them life would be pointless. For a writer, creating characters and stories is what we do. Without others in our lives I’m not sure we’d feel that same need to create.

I agree Laura. I know Jane Austen certainly was inspired to create by the people around her as were many other great writers. Our world has grown to include a much wider selection of individuals and I for one am happy about that. For instance, I am very happy that you and I have connected.

AWW! And to think had we not been in the same anthology.. It’s been great getting to know you as well!

I felt the same way for a while. :-)

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,105 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,105 other followers

