Darlene Foster's Blog

Commit to Your Dreams

Posted on: October 26, 2010

“Until one is committed there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back…. The moment one definitely commits, then Providence comes, too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred…. Whatever you can do or dream, you can begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Another person I admire, David Suzuki, shared this quote in a recent issue of BC BookWorld. I thought it an apt quote for an individual who has shown a deep commitment to our environment, and dreams of a better world.

Most people have dreams but many fail to realize them. Without commitment a dream is virtually unattainable. I recently found a folded piece of paper in a drawer I was cleaning out. It had been a goal setting activity from a workshop I attended about ten years ago. I unfolded the paper and found a goal/dream in each of the 16 squares. To my amazement, 14 of the 16 goals had been accomplished. The list included: write a book, get it published, go on a hot air balloon ride, change careers, travel to Spain, take a Caribbean cruise, teach in another country etc. The two that had not come to realization were things I no longer wish for.

I realized that I had committed to these dreams and I made them happen. When I committed to writing everyday, I eventually had a book written. When I committed to send the book out to publishers until someone said yes, I eventually got the book published. What ever your dream is, and there is none too small or too big, just commit to it and it will happen.

Of course I now have a new list of dreams which I have committed to.  The list is never ending – at least I hope it is never ending!

I would love to hear about other people’s dreams. Sharing your dreams and goals is part of the commitment, by the way.

“I am open and receptive to all possibilities.”

4 Responses to "Commit to Your Dreams"

Thanks Darlene. Oh so true. My standing dream is to create a total wellness centre in our lovely town. To have Tsawwassen pegged as a “Wellness Town” (like Sidney is the “book town”). Not only a healing and health centre for local residents, but a destination for others to come to for workshops and retreats.

Linda

That is a wonderful dream Linda and worthy of support. Have a great day!
Darlene

Some very inspiring words Darlene and such a nice account to share. It’s good to be reminded of the power of dreams when they are achieved and when they remain unfulfilled.

Leave a Reply

click to purchase

click to purchase

Click to purchase

click to purshase

Join me on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,887 other followers

Archives

Goodreads

click to read review

Super Sweet Award

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,887 other followers

